The end is nigh

Predictions from various Christian believers are swirling around that tomorrow, May 21, will be Judgement Day, and the world as we know it will end. I will not make light of those predictions, but it has been a world that has had its share of events fitting for the last days. Let’s just say that the atmospherics in and around the homestead have been somewhat tainted by the allegations laid against the now former-Managing Director (MD) of the International Monetary Fund (he resigned on May 18). The specific criminal charges that have now been brought against him are widely publicised and I wont go into any of the incidents that are supposed to have taken place. My own past association with the IMF, and with Guinea (from where the hotel chambermaid comes), leaves me feeling more than a little empty in my stomach. I know nothing personal about either the MD or the lady, so wont try to speculate about who may or may not be saying the whole truth. In time, I hope that all will come out–that is, if there is no Apocalypse tomorrow. The American judicial system is very open, so we will get no end of coverage from a series of media, not just those who love a scandal–that is, if there is no Apocalypse tomorrow.

The alleged incident in the hotel in New York has thrown up some very interesting contrasts in opinions, based on racial, social, cultural, sexual, religious and other viewpoints. Discussions I have heard and read are giving a clearer sense of what belief systems people hold. A wealthy, white, Jewish Frenchman, highly regarded in the world of finance, and a potential French presidential candidate having close encounters with an (I assume) not very well-off, black, Muslim, woman hailing from one of France’s former colonies, and with no known political aspirations holds enough intrigue without the addition of spice. But, all may be rendered moot, should the world end tomorrow.

Even with a somewhat sombre feeling hanging in the air that may befit the coming end of days, we have made no plans in case the world comes to an end tomorrow. I am not sure what we could plan, anyway. No one has invited us to any ‘last (not ‘late’) night’ party. Perhaps, we only need a few groceries tomorrow. I know that we are due to go to church on Sunday morning, as usual, and have an invitation to have tea with friends on Sunday afternoon. These, and other, events may have to remain in the annals of things left undone.

Of course, should the world remain as we know it, then we will all have more time and actions with which to reckon. Those who do not want to face tomorrow will not be very happy.

About Dennis G Jones (aka 'The Grasshopper')

Retired International Monetary Fund economist. My blog is for organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, but spent 30 years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for two decades, and worked and travelled abroad, extensively, throughout my careers and for pleasure. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of 3 girls. Also, married to an economist. :)
This entry was posted in Economics, Financial markets, Human relationships, Life styles, Media, News, Race and Ethnicity, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The end is nigh

  1. Jo says:

    The far greater drama is what to do with the sorry messes as the world goes on and on…

  2. P. Clayton Huggins says:

    Dennis, I have read the New Yorker magazine for more than 30 years and recently I have drifted away from it (I still follow it on Twitter) but purchasing and reading it on a Sunday (even here in Nevis where it is two weeks behind) has more or less ended.

    One reason for that end is that it is possible to find just as good and informed writers outside of its covers to engage me. I have said it before: you are an excellent writer! I enjoy reading your writings.

    As to today’s content: well, we live and learn.

  3. Pingback: Caribbean: Reflections on the Rapture · Global Voices

  4. Pingback: Caribbean: Reflections on the Rapture @ Current Affairs

  5. Pingback: Caribe: Fin del mundo satäk ukxat lup’iwinaka · Global Voices Aymarata

Leave a comment