Do you have the right app-titude?

Modern workers need to have something new: I like to call it ‘the right app-titude’. New technologies have changed many aspects of how they do their jobs, but the creation of apps (applications) and the widening use of smartphones means that customers and clients expect more than just a smile and the delivery of good service. Many businesses now try to connect with their customers by having apps, which allow browsing of merchandise, provide a range of useful information, provide the ability to shop, perhaps without the need for immediate access to the usual forms of payments.

starbucks-logoStarbucks (and I hope they don’t mind my using their logo) offer a customer card, but it also has an app which is an electronic version of the card and more, and offers many things to the casual or regular drinker and snacker. By loading the card with funds, you can buy your drinks, etc. by using the card or scanning your app in front of a bar code reader. You can reload the card, as needed, directly or via the app. Buying with the card/app makes you eligible for free refills of hot or cold drinks. You get offers of free music downloads and other offers. Easy enough? Tempting enough? Yes. Except that, I did not know all of this when I downloaded the app. My older daughter brought some of this to my attention, after I complained about not being able to find my actual Starbucks card and being miffed about either having to buy another card or just pay without getting a card and feeling that I was losing out on benefits.

So, when I went for a cool drink in Starbucks yesterday, I made the point to the barista that he and his colleagues need to do the modern version of up-selling (you know, the way that something extra is offered whenever you make your order–“A donut with that coffee?”). He got the point quickly and made sure I knew what the do. Ask customers if they have the card, and the app, and if they want to use one or either, etc. It may seem onerous or out of the norm, but the customers usually want things to be simpler and faster and apps offer that. Guess what? Sales may rise, too.

Last night, I was happy to try to download the free music that had been offered on my card. I see that I may soon be eligible for a free brew. Loyal or not, customers get a buzz out of getting something extra for the money they spend, not just the buzz from sipping on that caffeine loaded liquid.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Digital age, Economics, Human relationships, Life styles, Media, Urban life, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

