It’s not much but…

“So, what’s up? No posts for over a week!” I would not call that a needy plea, but that’s what a reader gave me in person, this morning.

Excuses? None needed. Ideas flow as they do and sometimes they don’t form enough to make a paragraph. But, if that’s the case, should I just push out the ideas as they are: few words, broken sentences, unfinished paragraphs? Some writers make a living doing just that.

Satire, yourself. I had too much fun over the weekend, lunching with some Jamaican friends. Every few minutes we’d get back to joking about ourselves, especially how we speak. Why, then, I asked, don’t we do much satire, instead of just jokes? One explanation given was that we’re very sensitive to being ridiculed, but so are most people. Another is that we take such ridicule very personally, which makes it especially hurtful, so is better avoided. It’s certainly not out of deference to those in leadership or so-called ‘high positions’. If anything, Jamaicans are as good at being crabs in a barrel as anyone. But, beyond cartoons, why is it that satire is not a well-developed art in Jamaican culture? Or is so subtle that I miss it?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

