Lenten Reflections: Forty Things I Really Like And… (Day 31)–Can you help me?

The right context.

The woman picked up the telephone and dialed the numbers slowly, trying to reach her bank. “If you want to continue in English, press 1,” she heard. “If you want to speak to someone about online access, press 2,” the friendly voice continued. She pressed some buttons and then the woman waited and enjoyed some background music. A man’s voice came on the other end.

“Can I help you, madam?” the man asked.

“Yes. It all happened on Saturday. I was trying to get my card to work and I needed it to work quickly. You see, I have these really important things that I need to buy, and it’s that time of year when the children expect something. I keep telling them that it can’t happen right now; they have to be patient.”

“I understand. But what exactly is the problem?”customer-service

“I’m not very good with the computer and every time I try to use it, I get confused and forget something. My money is in the wrong place and I can’t get at it. You see, I need to send it to my family, and I can’t.”

“So, what do you want me to do for you, today?”

“I need to make a transfer. I did it over the weekend by phone, after I tried to use the computer. You see, I’m not very good with the computer, and…and every time I try to use it, I get confused and forget something.”

“Yes, you said that before. So, what do you want me to do?” he tried again.

“I want to make a transfer, but I can’t because my account is blocked. You see, at the weekend, when I was trying to make one, I forgot my password and the computer blocked me out.”

atm-india“OK. I can help you with the transfer. Let me get some details from you. Name?…Date of birth?…Address?” he asked.

She provided the details. He asked her to hold while he tried to contact someone from ‘tech support’ to try to unblock the account. After 10 minutes, and two failed attempts to change her password, the account was again available for use.

The man from tech support was very friendly. He knew one of her friends and they exchanged quick stories about places that they both knew. She asked him if he was the same man she had spoken to some weeks ago. No, that man was no longer there. “What a pity,” the woman said. “I wondered. I had tried to call his number but no one answered,” she continued. She remembered how that other man had been able to help her quickly. “You know, it’s very hard for me. I don’t use the computer very much and every time I try, I get confused and forget something…” she started to say. The line went silent.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Digital age, Education, Financial markets, Human relationships, Language, Religion, Service economy, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

