Lenten Reflections: Forty Things I Really Like And… (Day 21)–Test me!

Challenges. As I lay in bed this morning, I really could not sift through the ideas in my head to decide on what to write. I dressed to play golf after I dropped my family off at their desired places. “If life gives you lemons, then make lemonade,” I heard a commentator utter on the radio. There you go, I thought. Take it by the hilt. Run with it. Get over it. Don’t let it hold you back. Don’t see it as an obstruction, treat it like an obstacle. More of these? The idea is simple. Life is hard, unless you try to make it easy. You may not succeed, but you’d better try. Like the little train.

Don’t make fun of trying to put a little ball into a hole. Remember from where you start, maybe 200 or even 500 yards away, and that you don’t have to do it in one go. Little by little. Of course? Try to get back on track. Miss the shortest put? Try again.

I spent an all-too-short afternoon with the 3rd grade boys yesterday. We had recess and then lunch. “Sit with us?” asked one boy. I agreed. Then on the other table, another boy pushed out the chair and pointed to it for me to sit down. What a dilemma. A teacher told him he had displayed wonderful courtesy. He had put me in a pickle, though. No problem. I decided to spend 15 minutes sitting at each table. We started to eat. My salad was not really tempting me, so I passed it to a boy who was also eating the vegetarian option. We joked, and he told me he was the funniest boy in the class: he told us a funny story about his brother and how all his clothes had fallen onto him from his closet. I moved tables. I asked if the boys could guess my age, and if they did I would clear the tables for all of them. 30. 35. 57. 48….the guesses went.challenges None was right. I turned it round. If I could guess their ages, I would get them to serve me lunch next week. My options were easier, but we still tried the idea. I will have my lunch served to me next week. The boy whose age I got right looked at me and asked “You’ll be coming next week?” I nodded. He smiled. “I’m looking forward to serving your lunch.”

Wasn’t that difficult now was it?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Children, Education, Human relationships, Religion, Sports, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

