Lenten Reflections: Forty Things I Really Like And… (Day 14)–Oh, so chocolaty!

Chocolate. What’s my favourite? Oh, that’s easy. Let me have a bar of Cadbury’s Diary Milk. The best way to let me have my glass and a half of milk…in every bar. It’s a promise I will make you keep.cadbury-dairy-milk-v2 Nothing fancy. Simply chunky. Slowly melting on my tongue.dairy-milk-cranberry-granola-2 Would it be any better in the cold or in the warm? Never leave a bar in your coat pocket.

What comes next? Who really cares about second place? 🙂 It may have to be an eat-off. A bar of Bourneville’s dark, but sweet? That’s very nice. Something a little more exotic? Try a Picnic. Something funky? Aero’s lovely bubbles; sometimes minty. What a crazy bar!

When the mood is really low, can you beat a box of Roses? Better still, make it a tin. 🙂 Curled up upon a sofa. Fire crackling in the hearth. Reading some old poetry. Blanket draped across the legs. “Oh, what a rogue and pleasant slave am I!” Give it to Will, he knew how to pile on the guilt. Put my hand into that tin. Which was my favourite within that choice? All of them! Ha-ha! Who’s for sharing? Not me. What a passion!

Roses
I know that it’s not easy to see these sweeties and not eat them. Think of all the parenting moments. “Look! Don’t touch!”

I’ve never fallen in love with a foreigner. Not for me the American brands. So, at the risk of offending, I will leave the Russell Stover. You can keep the Hershey’s. I have been known to wander out with some of the Swiss beauties. She told me her name was Lindt, and she was as sweet as sweet can be. I have also touched a German, and I’ve been in the back seat with some Rittersport.
rittersport
Yes, I should give a thought to all the growers of cocoa, but my heart does not pound for them. Yes, I love to see the pods hanging…thinking of what they will be. But, it’s the chocolate that interests me.

I have tried my best to resist, and many times I have made sure that the distance between me and the fatal passion is as far as far can be. But, every now and then, I am weak, I am willing. I’m yours! I stand upon a little ladder and try to find where it is hidden. Can I take a little nibble and just curl up in a bed?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Life styles, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lenten Reflections: Forty Things I Really Like And… (Day 14)–Oh, so chocolaty!

Leave a Reply

