It should all be about meow, silly!

My third grader and I were in our thinking pod on our way home yesterday afternoon, and figuring out what the world needed. “What should I write about on my blog?” I asked her. “Me, of course. And my cat. There’s a lot of funny stuff that we do.” She had a point, but I tried to argue that I could not see myself trying to create a literary version of Calvin and Hobbes or Garfield.russia-cat-writing But, maybe, I need to hold that notion. Our minds do not think alike, so where I think this could go and where she wants to take it need not be at all close. I recently gave someone who wanted to write the idea of being the voice of their foot. Let’s see where the notions may drift.

“How does stuff get onto our blog? Who writes it?” she pressed further. I told her that I wrote it all myself, and that made the words unique. “Cool! I like that. Can I have a blog?” she added. We then spent a few minutes discussing what that meant, including my concern that she’d need to set up an email address to get started, and that I thought she was still a bit young for that. She tossed back that there was www.kidsemail.org and www.kidssafemail.com, which were supposed to be safe for kids to use and have good parental controls. I asked her to show me the sites and we’d see if we could trust them to be what they stated they were. But, fired up by the thought of seeing her words published, she wanted to look, first, at how to start a blog. Our normal rule is no computers or electronic gadgets during school days, unless it’s for school work, so I bent that rule for the afternoon–she had no homework and a two-hour late start for school had made the day seem like the weekend. Off surfing she went.

She tells me that she wants to write a blog about kids and their cats. I’ve not heard more on the research, so I will have to follow up. If she wants to try to be a creative writer, then power to her, and roll on role of ‘creative advisor’.

This morning, no peep about the blog or email addresses. I don’t believe she’s dumped the ideas already. But, how did we get from what I wanted to write to what she wanted to write?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Animals, Blogging, Children, Digital age, Education and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

