Pause for reflection

Traffic Sign

What should you do if you see this sign? The correct answer is: Come to a complete stop, proceed when you have the right-of-way.

So, children, when we cross the road, we need to look to our left and right before we cross. If a vehicle is approaching, I prefer you to wait to see that it comes to a stop before you cross, that way you don’t have to wonder IF it will stop when you are in front of it. So, as the car approached quickly yesterday afternoon, I waited at the cross walk by the ‘Stop’ sigh with the two elementary school children I was walking home–one of them my own. The car did not stop until it was in the cross walk, then stopped for the briefest moment before moving again. I was just sending the kids across but told them to stop. I bent to speak to the driver. He said we did not cross as he approached and he decided we were not going to cross, so did not wait. I pointed out that he needs to stop fully and see if the people intend to cross. “I have no issue with you, sir,” said the driver. As he pulled away, I took his picture and his licence tag with my iPhone, let him go on his way, then crossed with the kids.

“Did you get his number?” our neighbour’s kid asked. “Yes,” I said. “You’re good!” I’d rather think that I am careful.

The world metes out different kinds of justice and we cannot all agree on what is right or wrong. I would rather be safe than sorry: the children are still alive, so am I, so is the driver. All is not right with the world, but we keep trying to be vigilant to make it so.


About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Bureaucracy, Children, Crime, Education, Family, Human relationships, Life styles, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pause for reflection

  1. Love how you handled it. Those kids are going to learn a lot from you.

Leave a Reply

