Hoodie done it

Looking in my wardrobe, I wonder what to wear.

Should my choice be geared by style or by fear?

A warm day, true, but would I feel good,

If I put on the sweater with the big hood?

What I understand, hearing the words of a ‘pundit’,

Black or Latino in a hoodie is surely asking for it.

If a nutty person sees me, and decides I’m what he fears,

Does it really matter what I choose as my gears?

Man in dark glasses? Waiting to harass us?

Boy in baseball cap, tilted to the right,

Simply looking for a reason to start a fight?

Woman in halter top, showing off her nape,

Is merely being casual not asking for rape.

Girl in high heels, sporting a short skirt,

Is wearing what she likes not merely being a flirt.

Hooded boy carrying Skittles and ice tea walking on his own,

Should not be a target. Leave the child alone!

My daughters all have hoodies, so do I and their mother,

Because we’re black we become a gun man’s fodder?

Cut out the lazy thinking and look at what we see,

Guns kill people: that’s the true anarchy.

You cannot rationalise madness;

But reflect on its sadness:

An excited man kills someone for the flimsiest of causes.

And someone asks us to believe it’s due to clothing choices!

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
Aside | This entry was posted in Children, Crime, Education, Family, Government, Human relationships, Language, Life styles, Media, News, Parenting, Public policy, Race and Ethnicity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hoodie done it

  1. Pingback: Jamaica: Hoodie is No Excuse · Global Voices

Leave a Reply

