Happy half-birthday!

My second grade daughter’s birthday is September 21, so today, March 21, she is getting excited. She tells me it’s her half-birthday. What? She will be exactly eight years and six months old. Let’s celebrate! She would love it if I told her that, if we calculated the half in terms of an exact half-year, she would have to celebrate on another day. She already snarls at arithmetic, so why not bare her teeth for another number conundrum?

So what will she do for this great day? Well, we could check the half-birthday web site: yes, it exists. Its ideas play a lot on the ‘half’ part. I am not looking forward to her having half-presents. Wrapping only, with the present to come on the birthday? Promises to pay down half for gift cards for the actual birthday? I cannot see her going wild over half-slices of cake or 4 1/4 candles only. Her mother is planning to take her to dinner: early evening half-price special, I think.

But, I wont be half-hearted, so will wish her fully a happy half-birthday.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Children, Education, Family, Human relationships, Language, Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy half-birthday!

  1. Kathleen says:

    I always get excited about my half birthday, but that’s because it is also the 4th of July. I like how the half-birthday website suggests those whose birthdays fall during the holidays should celebrate their half-birthdays. What about those of us who birthdays are right after Christmas/New Years and then their half birthday is on a holiday also? Do we start celebrating… 1/4th birthdays?

Leave a Reply

