Pure Bunkum!

Honestly, I was always bewildered about the furore concerning President Obama’s birthplace and religion. Deep inside, I know that a lot of his fellow Americans do not see him as one of their own. Whether it is because of his colour and race, or over where he was born, or his religion, or the fact that he is one of the new ‘snobs’, having been to university (Ivy League, to boot) and taught a bunch of other snobs, a good crop of Americans are suspicious of the fellow.

When I read some press reports over the weekend about the President’s lack of support in southern states and the findings that many people were still uncertain about his religion and his right by birth to be eligible as president, I paused. Today, I listened to an NPR report from Alabama, which put some flesh on the poll findings. What struck me was how some citizens spoke with conviction about their doubts that the President met the stipulations in the Constitution. Thanks to the reporter for pointing out that the erudite-sounding claims about what the Constitution stated was in fact total bunkum. Yet, people are believing things that are wholly not true and been proven to be so, or blatantly do not exist, yet have convinced themselves of their existence. That’s the stuff of miracles.

I have never had any desire to be a politician and have a hard enough time in ordinary life dealing with how you cannot disprove negatives. I guess when you don’t like a feller, you really are hard pressed to find reasons to thing good of him. I am going to try to calculate how many people needed to have agreed to be part of the Obama conspiracy that has foisted this carpetbagger on his (maybe not ‘his’) nation. One, two, three… I may be some time, so bear with me, while I work it out. Eight million and one, eight million and two…

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Education, Human relationships, Media, News, Politics, Race and Ethnicity, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

