The trill is gone

I told my second grader that I wanted to write about how our house had been bugged. “Eeeuuuuw! Those stink bugs creep me out,” She screeched. She was not fooled at all by my attempted quip. But, she thought that was a less interesting subject compared to writing about how she sings–well or not–and the way her voice picks up melodies. That was all she would give me in terms of material with which to work. Thanks, kid!

So, I love it that as she moves from being a lower schooler, and is getting ‘voice training’ through the church choir, she’s finding her true voice singing along to pop songs. She tries her best to be THE performer: a carrot is a great substitute for a real microphone. When she throws back her braids and sashays across the floor, it’s hard to believe that she is not a well-known diva. “When can I have an audition?” “How do I get to be on TV?” “When I am famous…” These are all part of her quest. I imagine that she is not that much different from other children her age, in that regard. Wanting to be an engine driver only appeals to a select few.

Do I want to live a life in a camper and trailer parks as we go touring talent shows? Not really. So, I have to break it to her gently that we will have to work on another career. Well, if she just happens to be chirping and a mega-producer hears her and decides to take her under his or her wing, and set us up to home school her and develop her properly, we could give it a try. I’ll be interested in her reaction when I break this plan to her later today 🙂

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Children, Education, Family, Human relationships, Life styles, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The trill is gone

  1. protcorben says:

    I wish you all the best with that. Let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

