Trust your ears? I don’t trust mine. Listen well and learn.

Lent will not be a time of misery enhancement, as far as I’m concerned. Playing around as usual is fine, so long as I remember that I should be re-examining myself and my spiritual core.

I do not watch TV much–usually sporting events–and I do not include primary contests in that. When I do, I’m sometimes shocked out of moments of creeping sleepiness by a blaring ad–you know the kind I mean, touting some drug or drug-enhancement that I hope I do not need or know someone who needs it or them. Because I am often not fully focused, I wonder if I heard correctly. So, I have to cock my head to one side and test if ears and eyes working together can confirm. Our eyes lie often, and to describe how that happens sometimes, we have the term ‘reticular activation syndrome’–seeing something a lot once you own it or have thought about owning it. Imagine how many VW Beetles you used to see. But do our ears have similar problems? I know that once I sit up erect I’ll function better.

But the media in general is always trying to scare us. This week has passed with much glaring focus on soaring crude oil prices–US$ 107 earlier this week and still over US$ 105, when I last looked–and the terrible prospect of gas prices over $4 a gallon. But what is triggering this surge? Iran halting exports to the UK and France? But why worry? Other suppliers are there: Iraqi oil does function … well, sort of.

My suspicions turn to China–buying up minerals like they are going out of fashion. To that nation’s rulers, it’s all another elaborate game. They play nations off against each other, like mahjong pieces being turned over and passed around, in a way that feels right to them but makes little sense to us. And how does that make you feel? Like pieces in a racked tile feng shui?

So, Lent is not quite two days old, and checking my core has an appealing side. Wandering through the wilderness of personal values that need to be explored is asking a lot of myself but will lay the seeds for a better life. But, I will try to fill myself daily with something enriching–and on that, I understand that it may be too late to buy paczkis, and that trading intensely is a better way to lose weight than going to the gym or dieting because traders forget to eat. Pass me that donut!

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education, Financial markets, Human relationships, Life styles, Media, News, Politics, Religion, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

