Assurance

I spent most of the day needing to be somewhere, but could never quite get there. I dropped my wife off so that she could get there early; then proceeded to school with my daughter, hoping to get there later. I wanted very much to go, but somehow my movements did not get me to the right place.

I took a friend to her appointment at the hospital downtown, then met another friend for lunch nearby. I hoped that I would be able to do a ‘drive by’ and pick up what I needed, but it was not to be. When my daughter had to go to choir practice, I thought that would give me the chance I needed. But, alas.

So, I decided to take a walk and enjoy the surprisingly warm afternoon. My path took me past The National Cathedral. I walked in through a side door and saw that two more Ash Wednesday services would be held–at 5.30pm and 7.30pm, neither of which I could make. I asked if a priest was available and was told to go to the slype–a place or person of which I had never heard before. A retired rector, who now mentors new rectors, came to the Holy Spirit Chapel, and along with a group of visiting school children prayed for us, then administered the ashes.

I stopped feeling uncomfortable now that my face was appropriately marked. To have had my forehead clean all day was not what I had wanted; but all’s well that ends well.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Human relationships, Life styles, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

