Copacetic

A word I came across for the first time a few weeks ago has been running around my head ever since: copacetic. Whether it is ‘alright’, ‘satisfactory’, ‘hunky dory’, ‘ducky’, they all fit, even the Jamaican Rasta variant, ‘Irie’.

A friend and I have been comparing notes today about how our trading days had gone. Traders normally respond “Alright” if asked how they are doing. I was not planning on trading actively today because I had some running around to do: due to take my wife to the airport; some visitors in the home who needed some medical attention; my own annual physical visit to the doctors–always something to which I look forward with relish–not. 🙂 So, I did not want to mess about when I could not focus. It can be a good thing to stand back from the markets, anyway, and Fridays are often my day for doing that.

My friend lamented how she had lost out after opening a position at almost the most favourable point, but then a sudden market correction made her trade a loser. She consoled herself with another trade that had gone almost as well as she had hoped. Win some, lose some. I commented that my best trade this week was from possibly the worst kind of set up–buying near highs. I regretted the trade within minutes of opening it, and mentally berated myself as I went off to my karate class. I came back home and watched the trade pull against me during the Asian (evening) session–just avoiding my stop-loss, after key data were released–while I eased my body after the karate session. I resigned myself to having to suffer a loss for my rashness, and went to bed. I woke to find a nice surprise, however, and my target had been hit while I was soundly asleep. It covered my daily target twice over, and I spent the rest of the day watching the markets and reading. That’s how the day can go sometimes.

By contrast, my best set ups during the week–like my friend’s, near a top or bottom–turned out to be just alright, and were made better because I saw them come up several times during the week, and got into them each time. I never got the full move, but as some billionaire investor says, if you can get a third of a move you are doing well. But, the bottom line was that I had ‘done my week’s work’ by Thursday morning. So, I should be feeling copacetic that my weekend could start early.

But, life isn’t just about the ‘job’, or the money it earns. A good Jamaican friend is staying with us, perhaps for the next two weeks, convalescing from the effects of someone doing a less-than-copacetic job on her in hospital. She is feeling anything but Irie! She and her family had been with us over the summer and it would have been nicer to have them back under other circumstances. Drip-feeds and liquid diets were not what I envisaged would be part of her baggage on any visit to our house. But, that’s also how it can go.

I don’t usually plan much for my weekends, but had decided that a long aimless walk in some hilly woods with my two daughters on Saturday would be nice to just get totally out of it and decompress.  I cannot find the origin of copacetic, but find some satisfaction in thinking that it may relate to cope. Doing alright is alright, and may be the best you can do.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Caribbean, Family, Health care, Human relationships, Language, Life styles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Copacetic

  1. Jo says:

    One of my father’s favorite words — he took delight in tossing it out in totally inappropriate places.
    I never thought about where it came from but kinda thought its roots were in pace/pax/peace… co-peacefulness, mutually/equally at peace? That smart-wordsmith Monica will know!

Leave a Reply

