Birth rites

I have never spent any time studying astrology, or thinking very deeply about whether the day and date on which I was born affected my personality or psychological tendencies. However, coincidentally, as my birthday approached today, I found on the bookshelf behind the desk at which I was working a large volume entitled The Secret Language of Birthdays. I know something about the personality that an Aquarian is supposed to have, but I was fascinated by the summary profile presented for my birthday, and thought I would spend today reading more about the basis for the analysis. However, although I got up very early this morning, I was so absorbed in the epic Australian Open men’s final, which went on for over five hours, that I never got started. I will save the reading for during the week.

I share my birthday with two celebrities whom I admire, for quite different reasons: Oprah Winfrey (1954), and W.C. Fields (1880). Other celebrated persons throughout history share with me the same birthday: Thomas Paine (1737), political essayist: Common Sense, Age of Reason; Henry Morton Stanley (1841), Welsh Explorer; William McKinley (1843), 25th President of the USA; Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860), playwright: Cherry Orchard; John D. Rockefeller, Jr. (1874), American Businessman. I have an oblique relationship to all of those listed.

My family had told me that I need not do anything today except enjoy a midafternoon family dinner, with my best man (whose birthday is January 26) and his daughter as a guest. So, after that large dose of exhilarating tennis, I decided to catch up with Meet the Press, then watched some English FA Cup soccer (Arsenal 3 – Aston Villa 2). I cleaned up my basement office area, then ran the vacuum cleaner over the house, while my wife cooked and prepared dinner, and my daughter tried to tidy up her room. I then took an hour power nap at about 2pm.

My elder daughter came over to join us for lunch. I got phone calls and birthday wishes just before dinner from my mother-in-law and my step-daughter. I called my Dad on Skype before and after dinner.

We had dinner at about 4pm: Bahamian grouper with tomatoes and olives, orecchiette with cauliflower and parmesan, asparagus with feta. We then cooled out by the fire eating homemade carrot cake and drinking coffee. I suggested to my best man-friend and my elder daughter that they read their day entries in The Secret Language of Birthdays. They were fascinated too.

My two daughters then joined me to watch the Pro-Bowl and enjoy State Farm ads featuring Aaron Rodgers for a while, until the younger one had to go to bed. In the background, I wrote this post.

It’s been a very simple but extremely pleasant day.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Family, Human relationships, Life styles, Parenting, Politics, Sports, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birth rites

  1. Kofi says:

    Entry on your birthday must read, “you will spend your birthdays in the warm embrace of your loved ones, and you’ll have the skill to write beautifully about it.”

  2. maayotte says:

    What a lovely day indeed. Simple and happy. Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

