Puns in finance: the ratings game

I have always loved puns–word plays, where words or the sense of a phrase can have two or more meanings. No limits exist to what word play we can have in the world of finance, so for a little fun, I knocked up a short pun list–inspired by today’s downgrading of a slew of European countries by rating agency, Standard and Poor’s (S&P). Perhaps, in time, I will develop it along themes, if I can get enough inspiration.

Finance-related puns are not new, and as the Pun of the day site shows, a lot of funny ones are already out there. So, I hope that my very short list is original (it’s been a long day, and I am really tired :-)).

S&P actions are constantly B(e)rated.

Ireland keeps its ratings this time, but will it be able to manage the punt next time?

Irate European politicians, who have called the latest downgrades ‘political’, clearly have no personal interest at stake.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Economics, Financial markets, Language, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Puns in finance: the ratings game

  1. sixpuns says:

    Very good…I appreciate these puns!

Leave a Reply

