They say it’s Friday

We often say “Thank goodness it’s Friday”, as I’ve written before, and are glad for the beginning of the weekend it signifies. Whatever your language may take Friday to mean–the fifth or sixth day of the week, or to celebrate Venus, or something else–English allows for some more interpretations, or at least play with expressions, each of which sounds like Friday.

Fry day: Eat all the fish you want, so long as it’s fried, eh? You don’t have to wait for Lent.

Afraid day: I’ve had a nice week, but would be wary of those for whom it has been rough, and would be afraid to call them today and get a hostile reaction. My English upbringing just tells me to be wary in such cases. Good friends will understand the message that begins “I’m afraid to say that I will be indisposed for the rest of the weekend…”.

Frayed day: It could turn out this way, if you get reckless.

Why spoil the weekend by doing something rash in low liquidity and dull markets? I will do like many others and stay out of the fray, today.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Financial markets, Language, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

