What God means to me

Yesterday evening, I spent time at my young cousin’s house; he is only 16 months old, and really cute with chubby legs :-). During the evening, I felt unwell, and started to develop a fever. My fever got worse and I vomited a lot. It was very unpleasant. My Mum and Dad had gone to a memorial service for a priest whom the family had known for a very long time. They came to collect me at about 10.30pm–very late for me–and I was really pooped. My Grammy (grandmother, to you) used to be a nurse, and she looked at my throat to see if there was any inflammation; there wasn’t. My parents put me to bed and in no time, I was fast asleep. I slept very well during the night.

When I woke this morning, I felt a little better. I thought about God. I asked myself if he was just a spirit. But as I thought about it, while I was having my breakfast of star- and Christmas-tree shaped toast with Nutella, the more I felt that God is more than that. He is everything in the world that is good. Although the world has a few bad people, it has many more good people and I think that is the way that God wants it to be: a world that is much more about goodness than it is about badness.

By Rhian Jones

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Education, Family, Human relationships, Parenting, Religion, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What God means to me

  1. ac says:

    Well Rhian you do have a probing mind and very intuitive if you continue on this path you would either become a lawyer or very good journalistic investigator. You have uncovered what bright minds seem to miss in their quest for God. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

