The twelve days of Christmas, for financiers

In case you do not know the carol The Twelve Days of Christmas, you may want to be familiar with its tune and usual lyrics, as well as some of the interpretations given to them. In this season of jollity and goodwill, I thought I would try a different take on them. Parodies of this and other well-known songs have been done before and will be done again, so I hope no one lauds or lambastes this version too much.

On the first day of Christmas, a tipster sent to me his view that euro-dollar hits parity.

On the second day of Christmas, my financier sent to me two turtle traders, and a tip that euro-dollar hits parity…

On the third day of Christmas, the rating agency sent to me three Fitch henchmen, two …

On the fourth day of Christmas, my broker sent to me, four margin calls, three …

On the fifth day of Christmas, a commodity analyst sent to me, five gold swings, four …

On the sixth day of Christmas, the EC sent to me, six more Greece delayings, five …

On the seventh day of Christmas, a doomsayer sent to me, seven black swans a-forming, six …

On the eighth day of Christmas, my therapist sent to me, eight Mike Milkens, seven …

On the ninth day of Christmas, Bloomberg analysts cited to me, nine Lehman law suits, eight …

On the tenth day of Christmas, the newspapers reported to me, ten Moody’s downgrades, nine …

On the eleventh day of Christmas, some Congressmen sent to me, twenty-eleven pie chart drawings, ten …

On the twelfth day of Christmas, Amazon sent to me, twelve copies of lords of finance, twenty-eleven …

Enjoy the holidays, which start in earnest for me this week.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Economics, Financial markets, Language, News, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

