All in a day’s work

All I needed to know was that the outside temperature was going to rise to over 90 degrees and the heat index rise to over 100 to tempt me to go out and spend a little time assembling the trampoline my wife had ordered. The picture in the catalogue of the assembled piece, with a child bouncing, was so homely and sweet. The two boxes that had arrived were heavy and I should have been well warned that ‘some’ assembly would be required. What was not stated–but maybe it should have been patently obvious–was that assembly required 2-3 persons. Hmm. One person into 2 or 3 pieces was not an option. Fortunately, we had some visitors staying and my wife had decided to take the day off work–every able body in the house lent a hand, age being no excuse, so it was a true community effort. It took the better part of the whole day to wrestle and wrench and pull and push and disassemble and reassemble and hoist and lower and hoist again and thread and…. Activities like this really ought to be filmed or photographed and guarded in the annals of family memorabilia.

After a few hours, I was already drenched in sweat all the way through all the clothes I was wearing, and I tried to stay in what little shade there was, even under the trampoline. Oh, for some clear instructions. Oh, for some instructions that were in a form of English that I could understand easily. Oh, for reading instructions all the way to the end. Oh, for noting all the little details mentioned.

We had started with all the pieces that should have been there and when we finished using the cord supplied to secure the side netting but found that one part remained unsecured, we knew that another little readjustment would have to be done. That was this morning’s after-breakfast bonus, with a little unthreading and rethreading, which liberated a section of cord that was enough to tie all the sides in place.

Now that it is fully assembled you had to wonder if the struggles to get to this stage had all been a bad dream. I know and understand why people would pay to have someone come and do the set up for this kind of equipment. I don’t need medals or prizes for tackling projects like these. You have to see and be inspired by the happiness they will bring :-). Character building, it is sometimes called. Without much ado, little people were excited and ready to bounce and so far it has held up and no accidents.

We will have to be vigilant and make sure that all heed the warnings such as “Do not attempt to jump over the netting”. I look forward to the day when I wake to find an animal visitor inside–a squirrel, perhaps–who may be wondering how to get out and how to deal with this wobbly surface.

But, joking apart, here’s to hours of easy bouncing and simple exercise.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Children, Life styles, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All in a day’s work

  1. wordnymph says:

    I hope at least they let you have the first bounce. I am picturing that. 🙂

  2. Dennis Jones says:

    Hope all you want 🙂

Leave a Reply

