Sunday post

It’s Sunday, and I do not usually post blogs on Sundays. But, as a fellow trader commented earlier this week, the (time of) day should not determine your actions; if the right (or in my case, write) circumstances exist, you go ahead.

Anyone who tries to write on a regular basis knows that it is mightily difficult to find inspiration all the time. So, placing a time constraint on ‘creativity’ is really an unnecessary constraint. Why would ideas respect some calendar? I have been trying to hold on to ideas that flowed through my head on a Sunday, thinking that somehow they would sit better if I then dealt with them from Monday. I have found that was really ridiculous as a process. Finding the right mental space for writing is no exact science, so if some ideas seem to flow on a Sunday, then I will try to get the digits working.

It’s late in the day now, so I wont push my luck today. I will just leave you with a picture from the whimsical mind of a first grader. During the afternoon, we visited some friends who had move back to this area from Barbados, and now have a near 6 month old daughter. She was doing what children do at that age, and had both her feet in her mouth. My first grader, perhaps prompted by constant calls during the day to not use her hands to eat her food, came up with her own answer to that parenting issue. “I can still put my feet into my mouth. Would it be alright if I dipped my toes into the melted cheese and then put my feet into my mouth?” Parents can ponder how to deal with a question such as that.

The world did not end on May 21, but it will end sometime. Enjoy what makes your face curl into a smile or, better still, will make you laugh out loud.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Human relationships, Parenting, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday post

  1. Esther says:

    I think most adults (not just parents) would be terribly envious of that first grader.

Leave a Reply

