No time to fool around

I did not forget that it was April 1, and that it was a good time to put out a blog that had a little ruse in it. The problem is that my ruses are so convincing that they are likely to cause more calamity than humour. So, now that the day is almost over, I can write without anyone fearing that they are being tricked.

But I do wish that I had taken the time to prepare a blog for the fooling of many. Maybe, next year, I will write a blog post that has a subliminal message such as “Amazonian Purple Roses Indicate Love For Only One Lover.” That’s a very lame example, so you see that such a task takes a lot of time and thought, so I may need to get started on it early. I will forgo Christmas shopping to give me time to make that early start. I may also think about co-opting some intern to think of pithy sentences that include the words April Fool carefully placed around the text: “Our Chinese neighbour, April Foo, lived in an igloo in her garden.” It’s something that any student would jump at doing, I think. Great mind gymnastics.

So, excuse me for not having bothered to fool anyone this year. Next year, look out for the blog with all the text in white on a white background. You would have to figure out how to read it.

Also, be thankful that I did not have wit enough to thumb through the books I had stolen from the library in the English town of Cock Snooking to find the best foolish-sounding insults for April 1.

Ideas are flowing for next April 1. If you cannot wait till then, just let me know so that I can get the foolishness into every day life.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

