Sounds like…

I collected a set of expressions I heard over the weekend–and I did not watch the Oscars ceremony–and share them in a moment of Monday morning whimsy:

“Sir says the service is all on the surface.”

“Please try to stay dry” (This works better if you remember that many people tend to pronounce t like d.)

I went to a school auction and heard someone say “I’m not bitter that we could not find a better bidder.” (Please remind me what Peter Piper picked.)

“I went to a kids-free conference.” To which I replied “Is that the first time you really enjoyed a visit to KFC?”

“Whether the weather improves or not…”

“There’s no matter that made me madder…”

 

A high schooler interviewed me over the weekend for a project and, among other things, asked what hobbies I had. I forgot to mention to at word play is one of them.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Language. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

