Getting the record. Write.

One dear lady with whom I am acquainted has been telling me how much she wants to write and get her ideas out to the public. However, she is a little older than the sum of a few college students and has not the facility they may have with computers and things electronic. Nevertheless, I have encouraged her to just write, using a blog. Just in a few brief conversations, recently, she told orally some wonderful stories and her descriptions are vivid and lively. But, she says that she cannot type very well. It is shocking that my first grader is probably better with computers that persons ten times her age. That is an awful digital gap.

It’s at times like these that I see the need for some mentoring of the older citizens by some younger ones. It also makes me hanker for some good but simple software that would allow older and less literary people to put their words onto a computer without having to type. I know software is out there, but like with a message that is sent but not received, that stuff is passing by many who dearly need it.

A part of me is tempted to just have a few sessions where this lady talks and I tap on the keyboard as fast as I can. But that would not be in the spirit of teaching people how to fish. Yet, as time goes on, the less the opportunities for her, and others like her, to get their stories told.

When we think about cloud computing it should not involve images of persons who can only relate their experiences to us when they have become angels.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Digital age, Human relationships, Internet, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

