Picture this

If a picture says a thousand words, then I wish that I could draw one to describe some of the odd things that happened to public officials recently, rather than trying to write about them. But, I am no artist, except in the eyes of my first grader.

I wish I could draw the smile on Rahm Emanuel’s face as he was declared the winner of the mayoral race in Chicago. First, he could run. Then he could not. Then he was allowed to run again, and now he’s won. I guess for Mr. Emanuel, it would have to be a finger painting. 😉

I wish I could draw the faces of astonished D.C. residents when they read the story of the saga over the pair of Lincoln Navigators sought for D.C. Council Chairman Kwame R. Brown, and when they heard that these can be “terminated for convenience.” Did their faces show similar reactions when they heard about the annual squabbling of D.C Council members over free tickets to the Verizon Center and Redskins Park. “Pick me, Sir! Please…” Will Mayor Gray have to deal with eligibility strictly in terms of black and white?

How about the look of incredulity on the face of President Obama when he heard Rush Limbaugh taking issue with The First Lady apparently not following her own dietary advice. Surely, an “Oh, crikey!” moment for the Obama household. 😮

What have you heard or read about that would make a good picture?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Bureaucracy, Human relationships, Media, News, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

