Putting the genie back into the bottle

One interesting conversation I had with my father in law during Christmas was about the failed attempt to create a West Indies Federation. It does not matter if you do no not know the history. He asked me if we would not be better off now had the Federation idea been successful. I answered that life is such that once you make a decision or act, nothing remains the same: you cannot know where you would have ended up if you had taken another path. Everything changes, and everyone acts based on what actually takes place. He said he was not sure about that, even though he argues that every action creates an opposite (some would say equal) reaction.

In the course of any day, for example, we end up in situations that result from something we did earlier. How much time do we, or should we, spend rehashing that decision? When we dislike outcomes we often think that the best thing to do is to not repeat the action that preceded the outcome we dislike. Conversely, if we find outcomes favourable we look to replicate what we think led to that. But, would that change anything? I have not had much time to really reflect on it today, but is part of the human condition that one needs to second guess decisions?

I’m looking at my trading platform ahead of leaving it to attend a church meeting that involves working out if money is properly counted. A few moments ago, I looked back on some trading set ups offered this morning by one set of advisors, which I had not read before I traded. I will look later at my decisions relative to their expectations. Will I think I underplayed my positions or will I think that I got the best out of the situation I saw? Tolerance of outcomes is always a challenge. What’s done is done–gain or loss–but how much will I wish for some of it to be undone?

As my new Macbook Air continues to act like it is sick, I will also be grateful to have done what I was able to do. Signing off, before my screen goes blank 🙂

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Caribbean, Financial markets, Government, Human relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

