‘Tis the season to be jolly…

Much as I may try, I cannot get any time to write regularly over the next two weeks. It’s Christmas, and in this family that means a lot of time together. That time is not necessarily dedicated to anything in particular, but it does get absorbed as the household expands. One feature is that the children, from newborn to teenagers, are all over the place. Fun though that it is, this makes for a world of time for them and not much for anything else. I wont fight the various challenges. My laptop is rarely mine for more than a short while and they compete to use it for games and writing. This time, I had to travel with two, for my own work purposes. Good thing. You can’t claim much quiet time. Little children play and make a lot of noise: no problem with that, but too bad if you need peace and quiet. Even if they are not arguing about who is winning, or which channel to choose, or whose plate is biggest, or whose drink is most colourful.

Another feature is that the phone never seems to stop ringing. It rings more times in one day than it does in a whole week at home. Unfortunately, most of the calls are not for me, but I am often one of those around to answer the calling. I should, perhaps, ask for a fee to cover this đŸ™‚ I would be happy to take that in liquid form, such as egg nog, or eaten form, such as fruit cake.

Of course, the season means lots of travellers arriving, and coming from colder climes and the problems that can create, may mean delayed people and their belongings. So far, two trips in two days to collect from the airport, and so far no missing persons or bags. Hope that lasts. I do not love the constant traffic jam that seems to be Nassau at this time of year. Thankfully, schools are already closed but during the daytime that national sport of driving around is in full swing.

So, I am not going to fight it. If I can, I will write. If I cannot, then I will not. With luck, some ideas will see the light of day, and that may happen without much structure–nothing wrong with that, really. More likely, they will get stored away for some better time.

Time to listen to the children philosophers: “Be thankful for what you get…” Let’s see what other gems flow.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Caribbean, Human relationships, Life styles, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

