I’m gone!

A church is a body of believers, and its strength comes from the solidity of the shared beliefs. So, I suffered some distress this weekend when I thought about the parish church that I attend, and whose congregation and clergy (through its many recent changes) I admire very much. My distress focused on those who were no longer present, having volunteered to leave the congregation.

What does it take to turn a regular parishioner away from his or her parish? A feeling of alienation is certainly deep in the decision. If you are someone who has put a lot of time and energy into participating in services; or participated in much fellowship; or participated with financial contributions; or participated with ideas; or participated in many more ways, why would you leave?

Some of the discussions that have gone on in the Episcopalian Church in recent years, especially with regard to same-sex unions, have deeply divided the congregation at large, within countries and between countries. The resonance at local level has involved a lot of personal pain for some. Whatever the reasons for opposing the acceptance of such unions, those who do oppose have had to decide whether to do so in silence. I pondered whether some of those who have left our congregation for reasons related to the stance on issues such as same-sex unions have had a chance to express their views–openly, if they wished–in a way that would show their wounds and see if they could be healed.

Much faith revolves around forgiveness and healing. But to be forgiven you should know that a wrong has been done. To forgive you need to appreciate that seeing the wrong done has to move beyond thinking of who to blame. As people try to feel their way to a new normal, a risk exists that those who have taken the decision to vote with their feet will be noticed but not noted. Who is trying to understand the why of the decisions to leave and has forgiveness had its chance?

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m gone!

  1. NOL says:

    interesting that you should write about this – last week i returned to my catholic church after many years. i decided to go to my church only because i thought it was important for my family to all worship together and my husband will not attend the ame church with my daughter and i that i have been attending for the last several years. note i said returned — because as i sat in the pew i realized that i was comforted by the familarity and was home. church, like a (dysfunctional) family is far from perfect – but you learn to hope and have faith for change.

Leave a Reply

