Where did my day go?

Yesterday, the first Friday of the month, was a day which was its usual intriguing self. In financial markets, it’s when data termed non-farm payrolls are released in the US: it’s about the state of the jobs market and markets hangs on the numbers as a good guide of where the economy is heading. Movements are usually quite volatile and even if you decide that you will not trade, it’s very helpful to watch the market reactions to the data. The numbers are released at 8.30am, and I had decided that I would not be trading around the data release. I had other reasons for that decision, not least a session for parents at school about a reading workshop. What better kind of thing to keep the mind occupied. It was refreshing to hear and see how the children’s reading programme is designed and applied. It was even nicer to watch them go through reading sessions in class, sitting on the floor, checking their book choices, listening to their teachers read and explain. In my daughter’s classroom there is a nice love seat and I put myself into that and just thought how nice it would be to be 7 again. I stayed for about 15 minutes, then headed back to financial mayhem-land.

I will be brief about the rest of the financial day, as it really was a watching exercise, and nice for that. I did administrative things and thought about what to write, eventually writing nothing. I could not develop the story I wanted about the group of deer that I had seen standing under some trees near the Washington Cathedral. My witticism that they were perhaps looking for a Starbucks did not raise a laugh in the car as we drove to school. I had to explain the link between deer and bucks later, and it got a titter. But that is how it goes some days. Good intentions. Not much to show for it. But not to worry.

I had a nice meeting with one of the clergy from my church, who wanted to explore more my comments that we (Episcopalians) needed to think as hard about having intra-denominational dialogue as we think about inter-denominational dialogue. We hardly speak and think with the same directions in mind. The elections and how the Republican Party had fractured to spawn the Tea Party Movement made me think about how religious groups had often developed.

Now, here in the moment, I stand watching the sun peek out on Saturday morning. My mind is moving toward what to write today, and if I should just deal with whimsy. I will.

Every now and then I see and hear names of people associated with events and their names seem so fitting. Ahead of the change to daylight saving time tomorrow, who else should be on NPR discussing why not to do this and how to think about how the body deals with sleep, but a sleep expert named Dr. Phyllis Zee. I kid you not. I will be more careful about tracking these. I really got started when I thought about Bernie Madoff, who made off with other people’s millions of dollars. Is it that names gravitate towards events and actions? That’s food for thought over a weekend when I will get an extra hour of sleep, or just lazing in bed.

Have a great weekend đŸ™‚

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Education, Financial markets, Health care, Human relationships, Life styles, Religion, Urban life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where did my day go?

  1. I am Kentarou from Japan.

    I have my blog today and I do not know how to write my comments on your dairy because it is hard to say my comments on your today’s one.

    I would like to visit the page from now on

  2. Leenie says:

    I see you in the Apple store reading your own blog. Dare you to quibids on the ipad!

Leave a Reply

