Hey, ROMEO!

Of all the places I would not have expected to get myself categorised, it was at church. In fairness, it is not really a category that the clergy has forced onto me, but I feel an affinity. As life transitions go, I did not expect to feel the love quite so much, but I do. I see that I am in danger of being a ROMEO (retired old man eating out). I have no idea what are the criteria for being a member. I am retired. I am a man. I eat out. But am I old, or old enough?

My church bulletin has a simple invitation to join other ROMEOs for ‘luncheon’ (a word that would date anyone) in a few weeks’ time. Will I get the shock of my life if I attend, and find that I am much too young?

As far as equal opportunities go, I wonder what is offered by my church for women in a similar situation. Will they be ROWENAs (retired old women enjoying new activitiess, or some better acronym)? If nothing is in the works, I do not want to be getting glares across the aisle from women miffed at the special privileges that men continue to enjoy.

I’m quite new to the retired thing, so forgive my nervousness. Though it may seem late in life, it’s still important to get off on the right foot, or whichever foot is not aching.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Life styles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

