Water everywhere but not where you need it

Whatever thoughts I had to share this morning will have to wait. When I woke this morning, the cold struck me, but so too did the sound of teeming rain. It was nice for my purposes: the yard needed it and I could see if the roof and guttering work that was done last week was working as it should. But, that is just one man’s view.

A week of very heavy rains in many places has left us with what? Well, in Jamaica the island has seen some of the worst flooding and mud slides in history as Tropical Storm Nicole wreaks havoc, and the death toll has passed 11. There had been hopes that a financial facility that helps countries with catastrophes would be available, but alas it is not because it was not due to hurricane damage.

In Barbados, the island is in a state of lock down after the third day of severe flooding: schools were closed island-wide and many businesses were closed until noon. A friend told me this morning that his children were enjoying the day off; they loved watching the trees bend as the wind blew hard.

As if not to be outdone, flooding has also occurred in my current locale, Maryland. It has not been severe in my little suburban town, but I can see where it has posed problems and some damage, with some roads blocked and a lot of the inconvenience was to commuters. But, lo. Here I was at home during the midmorning, when I heard “We have no water coming from the pipes.” I checked several faucets, and yes, we had no water. No sooner had I thought about calling to see what was the problem than the water came back. Life went back to normal. But, lo again. I take a friend to get his bus back to NYC, and am thinking about what to write, when I hear again that the water has stopped flowing. This time I call, because I need to know if we should take other measures. I’m told that there are two water mains with problems and that it may take up to five hours. I wonder if in this area bulletins are put out routinely on the radio alerting people to such problems.  “I better go to buy some water at the supermarket,” I hear, as I look out at the flowing waterfall of my pond–now working again since last Friday. Hmm. I know that in an emergency we have a stock of water.

I went to the bathroom, as there was water I could provide. Instinctively, I went to wash my hands. Water was flowing again. This time, we made provisions: out came some pots, pans and a kettle and we stored some water, at least to be able to prepare some meal. I heard, “In my village, we would go to find an underground stream and get some water.” I think that some simple things in life are often lost once you reach a certain level of development.

Today is not my day for bathing so I wont fret too much about the water shortage 🙂

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Caribbean, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Water everywhere but not where you need it

  1. Pingback: Global Voices in English » Barbados: Flooding Issues

Leave a Reply

