Come to a tea party?

After the various primary elections were held yesterday, I heard some things that made me wonder about politics. I will be brief, because my mind has been much messed up by the Japanese government deciding to intervene directly in the foreign exchange markets last night through today, to sell off lots of Yen, which everyone had been trying to buy. This was the first such action since 2004, and they decided to go it alone. It did make for a lot of turbulence and uncertainty. But, to politics.

I know that the American Republican Party has found itself fractured by a group that is calling itself The Tea Party. The addition of ‘party’ within a Party does not work for me, and I wonder if this group is really free-riding on Republican coat tails. But, I’m not into the constitutional bureaucracy and will let the GOP fight over that. The candidates from The Tea Party are often not much regarded as people with whom many would have tea, and that is a view coming from some of those in the host Republican Party.

That criterion, it seems, is now important. I heard voters in the District of Columbia being asked if they would have tea with Adrian Fenty, who lost as incumbent Mayor to the challenge of former Council chairman, Vince Gray. Many said they would not. But, the commentator also quipped that Mayor Fenty probably would not have tea with many people, adding that his wife had been stunned by his lack of communicativeness. He needs more people skills I hear. Now, it seems that a leading politician has to be a chum. I blame President Obama for having that beer summit over the Louis Gates controversy. I never realised that being good buds with the peeps was now what it takes to get policies enacted. I think I might have missed my calling.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Human relationships, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

