What kind of fool am I?

What can I say about all those robots or even real people who spend their days churning out messages that sound so tempting and sincere? If you are vain, then it’s easy to be taken in by messages such as I received this morning on my blog from ‘beyonce’. I had to check if the spelling with a small b meant that the poor girl had just been keyboard challenged as she crawled over my posts, or if it was just her way of getting my special attention. But, I soon knew that it was not me who was of interest, and I read the “Earning money online…” opening sentence. Delete and send to trash, I told my computer, and mark never to accept again. I know that in few moments or days ‘beyonce’ may become ‘michael jackson’ and try to sell me some other thing in which I have no interest.

I know that it’s very easy to spot these spoof messages so I am always intrigued how anyone falls for them. But, just the last week, I heard more reports about old scams coming back to haunt people. ‘You have just benefited from an insurance company payout of $1 million dollars and your first deposit of $3000 is attached. Just send us a fee of $1000 and we will guarantee the deposit of the remaining $997,000 into the bank account you designate….” Never to be seen again, the $1000 is sent and by the time the dud $3000 is rejected by the bank, the scamsters are off setting traps for others.

But, the willingness to be taken in is so great that the scamsters never cease. As I wrote this piece, I made a quick search on the Internet and found that even locally the scamsters never cease as one continue to ply the trade of ripping off would-be job seekers even while in jail (see Freeport News report).

You cannot really be sure of many things on face value. The art of the con, I often point out, is to seem credible. That’s how people flashing badges and a clipboard get access to people’s home to do whatever mischief they have in mind. A man with a ladder, a tool box, and a van with some trade markings, can set up to watch or even break in, without little undue attention. Of course, you get inquiring neighbours like me who come along and ask “What ya doing here?” and don’t take each answer as good just because it is uttered.

A fool and his/her money are soon parted. So, just think for a few minutes before you step in where fools tread and angels back away. If we are so willing to part with our money, there are many worthy charities out there. But, aha, that would be to give money and expect nothing back in return, right? Now, back to that free iPad giveaway…

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

