Disconnecting and staying very connected

Since last weekend, I have been trying to disconnect from social media such as Twitter and Facebook after Friday evening, and getting back on-stream from Sunday evenings. I do not find these services evil in any way, but they need to take their rightful place in life.

Twitter is very useful for my working activity, but as I focus mainly on financial markets, I should be able to drop that stream after markets close in the US on Friday afternoon. Admittedly, a number of analysts in the area that interests me, foreign exchange markets, continue to provide analysis and commentary during the weekend, if they will have application going forward, rather than just looking backward, it will be once markets reopen on Sunday evening.

Facebook has become a useful way of staying in touch with a group of acquaintances spread over the world, but we can stay out of touch on Facebook for a few hours over the weekend, I believe. I love to share what I read and some opinions, but also pictures of activities; friends seem to appreciate that, but not seeing them for a few hours should not damage our friendships.

There are few ways to block the flow of incoming messages, but I will aim to not send any tweets of Facebook updates.

Those people who need to reach me realise that I have my home or mobile phone, and I still deal with e-mail, if it is really important. They can even try to see me, if we are actually in the same area. It was fun last weekend, as I actually forget to carry my mobile phone, and enjoyed the feeling of having nothing likely to distract from what I was planning to do–watch some tennis at Legg Mason. This weekend, I have had a great lazy morning, including having a nice chat to my father in Jamaica with my daughters, and am about to settle to watch the ATP semi-finals from Toronto. My wife has plans for my wardrobe, and I gave her permission to go with her instincts. Age is making me mellow! The youngest daughter is having a play day with a soon-to-be school mate. My elder daughter is shopping with my wife, so I think the results will be pleasing :-). On Sunday, my elder daughter is going to treat me to some great American pastimes–baseball (Washington Nationals) and eating. My younger daughter and her mother will be heading to watch Mary Poppins.

The weekend is for rest and enjoyment between those who usually get separated by work and school demands.

In general, I plan to send no post to this blog on Sundays.

About The Grasshopper

Professional international economist, recently retired from an international organization. I use blogging as a way of organizing my ideas and thoughts about a range of topics. I was born in Jamaica, and spent many years being educated, living, and working in the UK. I lived in the USA for a few decades, and worked and travelled abroad extensively. My views have a wide international perspective. Father of girls. Also, married to an economist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

